No Excuses? {Day 29 in 31 Days of Filling the Well}

A short post tonight. The hurricane is here in full force, and I’m not sure we’ll have power for long. I’m amazed we still do, actually. I briefly entertained the thought that, if ever there was a reason to flake out on my 31 Days commitment, a superstorm power outage would be it. But then I realized, I’m not actually looking for excuses here. Unlike so many commitments I’ve made in the past, I’m not searching for a way out. I actually want to see this thing through. And I’m on Day 29, for God’s sake.  Hurricane be damned, I’m figuring out a way to make it happen.

This is a pretty foreign concept to me. Often when I make commitments, I start looking for ways out before I even begin. A minor broken bone, perhaps. A brief but not especially painful sickness. Something to provide me a way to neatly excuse myself and retreat into a world free of expectations and burdens.

But I’m not searching for a way out. For the first time in a while, in this small way, I’m actually fully engaging in my life. I am writing the words of my heart. I am making connections with beautiful people on the same journey. I am connecting my passion with my actions. Instead of running from, I am running to.

What would my life look like if I wasn’t constantly trying to escape or excuse myself from it? If I looked for reasons to do my life-work instead of reasons to avoid it?

I don’t know yet. This idea is so new to me, it’s still wiping its feet on my mental welcome mat before stepping in and inhabiting my soul. But I’m chewing on it. I imagine I’ll have a lot of time to think about it over the next few days.

I’m pushing my luck now with the storm, but I’ll be back soon. Posting via smartphone or making friends with neighbors with generators. I’ll be writing, come hell or high water… but probably high water.

Be safe, friends.

2 thoughts on “No Excuses? {Day 29 in 31 Days of Filling the Well}

  1. I hope you are well and the storm doesn’t shake you too hard. You will find exactly where you want to be running to. I’m working on that myself. But being able to say it, that shows how things are changing. It’s something to embrace.

Leave a Reply

